Foundation Annual Reports

Our annual reports bear witness to the generosity of our donors, as well as the resounding influence of every single donation. Featuring stories of students who studied in Norway, to families attending an exhibit sponsored through our grant program, and so much more. 


The stories, facts and donors who made it possible are right here in our archive of annual reports.


To view our annual reports 

Click here


About the Board of Governors

The Sons of Norway Foundation Board of Governors is made up of 10 voting members and four non-voting members. Board of Governors members come from across the United States and they are all volunteers who serve without pay. They can serve up to three consecutive two-year terms and the terms are staggered so that half of the board members' terms expire  in even years and half during odd years. 


Apply for the Board of Governors

The Sons of Norway Foundation is now accepting applicants to its Board of Governors. Completed applications must be received by September 9, 2016. Please download and read the following informational documents prior to submitting your application.

Strategic Oversight and Visionary Board Model

Foundation Board of Governors Job Description

Foundation Board of Governors Application 

The applications may be e-mailed to If you have any questions please contact Foundation Director Corrie Maki Knudson at 612-821-4632 or


Board of Governors' Meetings

Yearly meetings for the purpose of conducting the business of the Foundation are held in Minneapolis and at other points throughout the year via teleconference. 


Foundation Board of Governors 2017

Leslee Lane Hoyum, Chair

Rockford, Minnesota

Thomas Heavey, Sr., Member

Tacoma, Washington

Allison Foreman, Vice Chair

Wanatchee, Washington

Karl Hella, Member

Northfield, Minnesota

Blaine Hedberg, Secretary

Westby, Wisconsin

Elaine Nelson, Member

Fargo, North Dakota

Dean Nelson, Treasurer


Minneapolis, Minnesota

Dan Rude, Member

Missoula, Montana

Jon Tehven, International President

Waverly, Iowa

Marcia Sorenson, Member

Huston, Idaho

Eivind Heiberg, Chief Executive Officer


Minneapolis, Minnesota

Doug Warne, Member

Seattle, Washington

Corrie Maki Knudson, Director


Minneapolis, Minnesota




Front row: Douglas Warne, Elaine Nelson, Marcia Sorenson, International President, Jon Tehven, Leslee Lane Hoyum
Back row: Karl Hella, Chair Thomas Heavey, Sr., Allison Foreman, Vice Chair Dan Rude, Jim Olson
Not pictured: Secretary Blaine Hedberg